Travel Information

On March 11, 2020, President Trump announced new travel restrictions for European Union countries.  He suspended travel for foreign nationals who have been in certain European countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival in the United States.

The impacted countries are the 26 European countries that comprise the Schengen Area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Travel into the United States for foreign nationals who have been in China and Iran in the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival in the U.S. is also prohibited.

These restrictions do not apply to U.S. citizens, immediate family members of U.S. citizens, and generally to legal permanent residents.

Important Information for Individuals Traveling to Mexico or Canada:

As of March 21, 2020, all non-essential travel to Mexico and Canada has been temporarily restricted. The measure will be in place for 30 days, at which point it will be reviewed by all parties. “Non-essential” travel includes travel that is considered tourism or recreational in nature. More information on the travel restrictions can be found here:


Important Information for Individuals Currently in Costa Rica and Nicaragua:

If you do not intend to remain there for an extended period, you should depart via commercial means now.

Costa Rica:

U.S. Embassy San Jose tweeted:

We urge all U.S. citizens who wish to depart Costa Rica to do so now.  U.S. citizens who remain in Costa Rica should be prepared to remain in Costa Rica for an indefinite period.

For full message, see



U.S. Embassy Managua tweeted:

Suspension of Several Airline Services

As of March 25, 2020, AeroMexico is the only international carrier serving Nicaragua that has not announced plans to suspend service. AeroMexico does not have direct flights to the   United States from Nicaragua, but does fly 5 times per week from Managua to Mexico City with connecting service to Miami and other U.S. cities.  There is confirmed seat availability on outbound AeroMexico flights through April 7, 2020. 

For the full message, please see


As of March 12, American citizens, legal permanent residents, and their families who have been to China or Iran in the last 14 days will be routed to one of 11 airports in the country to undergo health screenings.

Those airports are:

Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts

Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois

John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York

San Francisco International Airport (SFO)

Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)

Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL)

O’Hare International Airport, Chicago (ORD)

Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (DFW)

Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW)

Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR)

Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Honolulu

Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD)

Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA)

We have been working to take inquiries regarding Americans stuck abroad. I reached out to the Deputy Secretary of State for Consular Affairs Carl Risch to discuss ways of getting Ohioans and other Americans home safely. 

Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP)

The first step, if you have not already done so, is to immediately enroll in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP), which is the State Department’s system for registering and communicating with U.S. citizens abroad.  STEP helps the State Department quickly track and identify where all American citizens are stranded throughout the globe.  This will ensure you receive all Embassy travel updates, including any regarding return flights to the United States.

As of Friday, March 20, 2020, the State Department has set up a task force and is asking affected Americans to register at e-mail Your email should include:

•         The country you are in in the subject line of your e-mail

•         Name

•         Date of Birth

•         Passport number

•         Age

•         Gender

•         Your exact location

•         Telephone number and email address where you can be reached

The State Department has stated that they are working with U.S. airlines, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and others to arrange for charter flights to go to where groups of Americans remain abroad to bring them home. The State Department is paying for the flights up front, but the person will be required to sign a note and repay the State Department for the trip. Those in remote areas should do their best to get to the nearest large city where most of the evacuation flights will be landing. The State Department will not retrieve individuals in remote areas.

Once the returnees arrive in the U.S., they will be turned over to Health and Human Services for a medical check. They will be responsible to get themselves from where the flight lands to their home state.