Portman Joins Senate in Commemorating National Police Week

Bipartisan Resolution Honors 576 Officers Lost in the Line of Duty in 2021

May 19, 2022 | Press Releases

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) joined his colleagues in supporting a resolution marking National Police Week and reiterating support for the men and women in law enforcement. The bipartisan resolution was adopted unanimously by the Senate.

“During this National Police Week, I’d like to recognize the brave men and women in law enforcement who are protecting their fellow citizens every single day and thank them for their service,” said Portman. “We also must remember the brave law enforcement officers who have tragically died in the line of duty, making the ultimate sacrifice in the name of protecting others.”

The resolution honors the 576 law enforcement officers who were killed in the line of duty in 2021, including nearly 400 who died from COVID-19, as well as the 92 lost to date in 2022. Two officers from the state of Ohio were killed in the line of duty. Last year marked the most intentional killings of police since the September 11, 2001, attacks. In the face of an ongoing pandemic and rise in violent crime, law enforcement personnel continue to answer the call, serving their communities, often at great risk to themselves.

The resolution designates the week of May 15 through May 21, 2022, as “National Police Week,” and expresses unwavering support for law enforcement officers across the United States in the pursuit of preserving safe and secure communities.

Along with Portman, cosponsoring the resolution were Senators Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Angus King (I-ME), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Susan Collins (R-ME), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Shelly Moore Capito (R-WV), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), James Risch (R-ID), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Gary Peters (R-MI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Rand Paul (R-KY), Chris Coons (D-DE), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-CT), John Thune (R-SD), Jack Reed (D-RI), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Edward Markey (D-MA), John Barrasso (R-WY), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Rick Scott (R-FL), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Todd Young (R-IN), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Jon Tester (D-MT), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Tom Carper (D-DE), Steve Daines (R-MT), Michael Bennett (D-CO), Richard Burr (R-NC), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), John Kennedy (R-LA), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), John Cornyn (R-TX), Mike Braun (R-IN), Richard Shelby (R-AL), John Boozman (R-AR), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), James Lankford (R-OK), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Mike Lee (R-UT), Tim Scott (R-SC), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM) and John Hickenlooper (D-CO).

Text the resolution is available here.