Portman, Brown Praise FEMA Approval of Public Assistance for Four Ohio Counties

July 18, 2019 | Press Releases

WASHINGTON, DC Today, U.S. Senators Rob Portman (R-OH) and Sherrod Brown (D-OH) praised the decision by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to approve Governor DeWine’s request for an addendum to the Presidential Disaster Declaration granted on June 18, 2019. This addendum would include the Public Assistance Grant program for Columbiana, Greene, Mercer, and Montgomery counties impacted by tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds, and flooding. Portman and Brown wrote to President Trump last week urging him to approve Governor DeWine’s request. Both Senators are committed to continue working with FEMA and the state of Ohio to make sure the resources get to Ohio communities quickly and effectively.  

This announcement will help ensure that state, local, and tribal governments in these counties have the resources to recover and fund projects for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures, and restoration of public infrastructure, among other things.  

“I want to thank FEMA and the Trump administration for swiftly approving this much-needed assistance to these Ohio counties,” said Portman. “Since the tornadoes touched down, I’ve been to the area three times to see the tornado damage firsthand and visit with local law enforcement and community leaders. The damage is unbelievable, but I’m proud of the progress the Dayton community is making with the relief efforts. I will continue to work with Governor DeWine, Senator Brown, and the administration to ensure our communities get the assistance they need.” 

“As communities across Ohio continue working to recover from the devastation left behind by these tornadoes, Sen. Portman and I will continue working with FEMA and the state of Ohio to make sure critical resources get to Ohioans quickly,” said Brown. “Having seen the damage up close and talked to the families in need, Sen. Portman and I know how important these federal resources are to Ohio.”