Portman Announces New Drug Free Communities Grants to Combat Drug Crisis in Ohio

September 21, 2017 | Press Releases

CINCINNATI, OH – U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH), today welcomed the announcement of 27 Drug Free Communities (DFC) grant recipients in the state of Ohio.  In 1997, Portman co-authored the Drug-Free Communities Act, which supports evidence-based, community-oriented drug prevention program. The program is designed to be optimally effective and accountable by capping the amount spent on administrative and overhead expenses, requiring all coalitions that receive grants to have experience in drug abuse prevention, as well as matching federal funding with dollar-for-dollar local funds.  No other drug prevention program has achieved the same reductions in youth drug use that have been achieved consistently by the DFC program. This program is working well at a time when America desperately needs more drug abuse prevention and education. Portman issued the following statement on today’s announcement:

“The Drug-Free Communities program is a proven, evidence-based, community-oriented and accountable program that reduces substance abuse among our nation’s youth. Sadly, amidst the worst drug crisis our nation has ever seen, it is needed now more than ever. These 27 grants will help those on the frontlines in Ohio combat this crisis as we work together to turn the tide of addiction. I’m pleased that my Drug-Free Communities legislation is working to address the comprehensive challenge of combating addiction.”

NOTE: The grant awards for Ohio can be found below and at this link.

  • $125,000 for the Coalition for a Healthy Middletown
  • $125,000 for The Cincinnati for HOPE Coalition
  • $125,000 for Madisonville Weed and Seed Coalition
  • $125,000 for Scioto County Drug Action Team Alliance
  • $125,000 for the Faith in Recovery Prevention Coalition in Fayette County
  • $125,000 for the Coalition for Health Promotion in Youngstown
  • $125,000 for the Clermont Recovery Center in Batavia
  • $125,000 for the Milford Exempted Village School District
  • $125,000 for the Mental Health & Recovery Board of Union County in Marysville
  • $125,000 for the Wood County Board of Education
  • $125,000 for the Swanton Area Community Coalition
  • $125,000 for the Fulton County Health Department
  • $125,000 for the YMCA of Greater Toledo
  • $125,000 for the Alcohol Drug Abuse Prevention Team Coalition in Lisbon
  • $125,000 for the Knox Substance Abuse Action Team in Mount Vernon
  • $125,000 for the Mental Health and Recovery Service Board of Stark County
  • $125,000 for the Butler County Coalition
  • $125,000 for the Alcoholism Council of Butler County
  • $125,000 for the Fairfield School District
  • $125,000 for the Lorain County Communities that Care Partnership
  • $125,000 for the Erie County Health Department
  • $125,000 for the Recovery & Prevention of Morrow County
  • $125,000 for the Coalition for a Drug-Free Mahoning County
  • $125,000 for the Ashtabula Co. Recovery Service Board
  • $125,000 for the Community Awareness and Prevention Association of Broadview Heights
  • $125,000 for the Partnership for A Healthy North Royalton
  • $125,000 for the Liberty Center Connections in Wooster