Portman Announces Additional $782,000 in Federal Aviation Administration CARES Act Grants to Assist Ohio Airports Impacted By COVID-19 

May 5, 2020 | Press Releases

WASHINGTON, DC —Today, U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) announced that the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) awarded 15 additional federal grants to help provide economic relief for lost revenue because of COVID-19.  

Recently, Portman announced that the FAA awarded Northeast Ohio airports with more than $46.5 million in federal grants. In addition, Portman announced 28 Ohio airports with more than $42.1 million in federal grants. Last week, Portman announced additional FAA grants to help address the impacts of Covid-19. In total, Ohio airports have received $104.1 million in federal grants. 

These grants come from funds accessible thanks to the bipartisan Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, which Portman supported and was signed into law by President Trump. Portman released the following statement:    

“A functioning and effective aviation industry is critical to our U.S. economy. During this ongoing coronavirus pandemic, travel has significantly changed, almost nearly halted, thus leaving the aviation industry in a tough economic position,” said Portman. “I’m pleased to see this CARES Act rescue money helping this industry so these airports can continue to serve Ohio, and beyond this assistance, I will continue to work with my colleagues to ensure Ohioans have the resources they need during these uncertain times.”  

The following airports received grants:  


Delaware Municipal - Jim Moore Field $69,000

The Ohio State University $157,000

Fayette County $30,000

Zanesville Municipal $69,000

Galion Municipal $30,000

Grimes Field $30,000

Perry County $20,000

Port Bucyrus-Crawford County $30,000 


Clinton Field $30,000 


Ohio University $69,000

Jackson County Airport Authority $30,000 


Lake County Ohio Port and Economic Development Authority $69,000

Harry Clever Field $30,000

Kent State University $30,000 


Erie-Ottawa International $69,000

Sandusky County Regional $20,000