Portman Announces $30 million in Federal Aviation Administration Grants to Ohio Airports Impacted by COVID-19

Funding provided by the December 2020 Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act

April 7, 2021 | Press Releases

CINCINNATI, OH – Today, U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) applauded the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) award of more than $30 million to Ohio airports to provide economic relief from COVID-19.

The Airport Coronavirus Relief Program was created through the bipartisan, bicameral COVID-19 relief package within the end-of-year spending agreement. Senator Portman played a key role in negotiating the legislation through the bipartisan 908 Coalition, which proposed a $908 billion package that included this critical relief for airports and served as a basis for the final package.

“The aviation industry’s recovery is critical to our nation’s economy. During this pandemic, the sharp decline in air travel left the industry in an uncertain economic position,” said Portman. “I’m pleased to see this continued support for our airports as they ramp up services to meet the increasing demands of air travel as our country continues on the path to recovery.”

The following airports received grants:

John Glenn Columbus International-$8,619,383

James A. Rhodes-$13,000

Pickaway County Memorial- $13,000

Youngstown-Warren Regional-$23,000

Lawrence County Airpark-$13,000

Kent State University-$13,000

Hardin County-$13,000

Kelleys Island Land Field-$9,000

Morrow County-$9,000

Vinton County-$9,000

Zanesville Municipal-$23,000

Middle Bass Island-$9,000

Fairfield County-$13,000

Wayne County-$23,000

Akron Fulton International-$23,000

Perry County-$9,000

Toledo Exec-$13,000


Lake County Exec-$23,000

Fulton County-$13,000


Bellefontaine Regional-$13,000

Geauga County-$13,000

Lima Allen County-$13,000

North Bass Island-$9,000

Darke County-$13,000

Carroll County-Tolson-$13,000

Van Wert County-$13,000

Defiance Memorial-$13,000


Erie-Ottawa International-$23,000

Harry Clever Field-$13,000

Wadsworth Municipal-$13,000

Akron-Canton Regional-$3,038,242

Northeast Ohio Regional-$9,000

Columbiana County-$13,000

Ross County-$13,000

Sidney Municipal-$13,000

Bolton Field-$47,162

Ohio University-$23,000

Ohio State University-$91,162

City of Cleveland-$91,162


Neil Armstrong-$23,000

Medina Municipal-$13,000

Henry County-$13,000

Eugene F Kranz Toledo Express-$1,468,094

Cleveland-Hopkins International-$9,734,529

Harrison County-$13,000

Cuyahoga County-$91,1652

Jefferson County Airpark-$13,000

Wood County-$13,000

Monroe County-$9,000

Richard Downing-$13,000

Cambridge Municipal-$9,000

James M Cox Dayton International-$4,116,832


Dayton-Wright Brothers-$23,000

Portage County-$13,000

Williams County-$13,000

Putnam County-$13,000

Knox County-$23,000

Holmes County-$9,000

Rickenbacker International-$2,049,288

Delaware Municipal-Jim Moore Field-$23,000