Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-Ohio) today said he supports the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) decision to declare a disaster designation for Ohio for the counties of Butler, Defiance, Fulton, Hamilton, Henry, Paulding, Preble, Putnam and Van Wert.

“I support the USDA’s effort to provide much needed assistance to Ohio farmers who have been hit hard by this drought, augmenting their distress during this time of high unemployment and weak economic recovery,” Portman said. “I recently visited Keith and Brian Alt Farm in Shelby, Ohio, as well as farms in Allen and Clermont Counties, and heard first-hand how difficult this drought has been on Ohio's number one industry.  I am hopeful that this designation will help get agricultural communities affected by this severe drought back on their feet.”

In addition to the 9 counties that have received the special designation, benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Allen, Auglaize, Clermont, Darke, Hancock, Lucas, Mercer, Montgomery, Warren, Williams and Wood.

The following counties in Ohio - Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Darke, Hamilton, Lawrence, Mercer, Preble, Scioto and Van Wert - have also been designated as contiguous counties under separate disaster designations for the states of Indiana and Kentucky.

You may read the letter announcing the designation here.